Following careful consideration of the current course of the COVID-19 pandemic, we have decided to close Wellcome Collection.
We have made this decision in the interests of the health and wellbeing of our staff, service partners, tenants, contractors and visitors.
Please note that requesting of closed stacks material is not possible at this time.Please read our full statement.
The library at Wellcome Collection
More search options
Portrait of Dr Alexander Newington by a patient. Ticehurst House Hospital casebook, 1891.
Credit: Wellcome Library, London
Manor House, a private asylum in Chiswick, London, was run by three generations of the same Quaker family, the Tukes, for nearly 100 years.
Manor House was established by Edward Francis Tuke and his wife Mary around 1837. Following Edward’s death, Mary was licenced to operate the asylum, with their son Thomas Harrington Tuke as the asylum physician. Influenced by Dr John Conolly, a major figure in asylum reform, and their Quaker beliefs, the Tukes developed a more humane asylum system.
Thomas married one of Conolly’s daughters and their two sons, Thomas Seymour and Charles Molesworth continued the family business. Under their supervision the asylum moved from Manor House to Chiswick House (later known as Chiswick House Aslylum) in 1893, where it remained until it closed in 1929.
There are seven casebooks in the Manor House papers covering male and female patients and 'voluntary boarders'. The papers also include correspondence to the Tuke Family and others for the period 1870–1925.
The original Manor House Asylum papers may be consulted at the Wellcome Library.
The digitised Manor House papers are available under a Creative Commons Non-Commercial Attribution license; they can be freely downloaded and reused for non-commerical purposes, so long as attribution is given to Wellcome Library.
Browse the full list of Manor House Asylum papers
View images on Flickr
Explore the collections by author, genre and topic
Find archival material in the Library