During the current COVID-19 pandemic, Wellcome Collection is closed. Please read our full statement.
The library at Wellcome Collection
More search options
Portrait of Dr Alexander Newington by a patient. Ticehurst House Hospital casebook, 1891.
Credit: Wellcome Library, London
Camberwell House Asylum in London first opened in 1846. It remained a private hospital until its closure in 1955. The archive dates from 1846-1920, with gaps.
Camberwell House Lunatic Asylum opened in 1846, accomodating 150 pauper and 12 private patients. By 1878 it was the second largest asylum in London, licensed to accommodate 362 patients. The asylum consisted of three substantial houses built in 1790 and 20 acres of parkland that later included tennis courts and a putting green. In 1919 it dropped the term asylum to become Camberwell House. It remained a private hospital until its closure in 1955.
The archive contains three volumes of patient case books, for over 1000 people, from 1846–1887. There are also two volumes of admissions records for pauper patients from1846-1848 and a Visitors' Book of Commissioners in Lunacy, 1846-1865. A few individual items from the early 20th century include photographs of the grounds, and a book of rules for laundry workers.
Volumes two and three of the original patient case books are held at the Wellcome Library. The remainder of the archive may be consulted at the Royal College of Psychiatrists.
The digitised Camberwell House papers are available under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial license. You are free to download and reuse items for non-commercial purposes, with attribution.
Browse the full list of Camberwell House Asylum papers
Explore the collections by author, genre and topic
Find archival material in the Library