This guide highlights primary source material from the Archives and Manuscripts Collection about domestic medicine and receipt books - 18th century.

The Archives and Manuscripts catalogue holds further details of these items.

Elizabeth Sleigh and Felicia Whitfeld
Collection of medical receipts, 1647-1722.
Reference: MS.751
Full details in catalogue

Mary Bent
Cookery book, with a few medical receipts, 1664-1729.
Reference: MS.1127
Full details in catalogue

Jane Newton and others
Medical and cookery receipts, c.1675-c.1725.
Reference: MS.1325
Full details in catalogue

Katherine Jones, Lady Ranelagh
Collection of medical receipts, c.1675-c.1710.
Reference: MS.1340
Full details in catalogue

Martha Hodges and others
Collection of cookery receipts, including a few medical receipts, c.1675-1725.
Reference: MS.2844
Full details in catalogue

Elizabeth Okeover and others
Collection of medical receipts, c.1675-c.1725.
Reference: MS.3712
Full details in catalogue

Mrs Elizabeth Hirst and others
Collection of medical and cookery receipts, 1684-c.1725.
Reference: MS.2840
Full details in catalogue

Frances Springatt and others
Collection of cookery and medical receipts, 1686-1823.
Reference: MS.4683
Full details in catalogue

Mrs Meade and others
Collection of medical, veterinary and cookery receipts, 1688-1727.
Reference: MS.3500
Full details in catalogue

Amy Eyton and others
Collection of cookery receipts, with a few medical and household receipts, 1691-1738.
Reference: MS.2323
Full details in catalogue

Elizabeth Browne/ Penelope Humphreys/ Sarah Studman/ Mary Dawes
'Book of Receipts', collection of cookery and medical recipes, c.1697-19th century.
Reference: MS.7851
Full details in catalogue

Miss Shaw
Collection of medical and cookery receipts, 17th-18th century.
Reference: MS.7721
Full details in catalogue

Unidentified author [initials J A]
Collection of cookery and medical receipts, later 17th-early 18th century.
Reference: MS.7745
Full details in catalogue

Anon
Collection of medical, culinary and household recipes, in various hands, 17th-early 18th century.
Reference: MS.7818
Full details in catalogue

Anon
Collection of medical recipes, later 17th-18th century.
Reference: MS.7822
Full details in catalogue

Dorothea Repp
Collection of cookery, medical, veterinary and household receipts, early 18th century.
Reference: MS.7788
Full details in catalogue

Sarah Palmer and others
Collection of medical receipts, early 18th century.
Reference: MS.3740
Full details in catalogue

Mary Preston
Collection of cookery and medical receipts, early 18th century.
Reference: MS.3995
Full details in catalogue

Mrs Katharine Palmer
'A Collection of ye best Receipts… in Cookery, preserving, and all manner of Housewifery, physick  & Chirurgery’, 1700-39.
Reference: MS.7976
Full details in catalogue

Sarah Nott and others
Collection of cookery receipts, with a few medical receipts, 1701-c.1820.
Reference: MS.3696
Full details in catalogue

Lady Catherine Fitzgerald
Collection of cookery receipts, with some medical receipts, 1703-7.
Reference: MS.2367
Full details in catalogue

Elizabeth Jenner
'Her Book...for makeing Waters and Syrups and other Physical Remedies', 1706.
Reference: MS.3029
Full details in catalogue

Hannah Hickes
'Her Book of Receaits...', 1709.
Reference: MS.2834
Full details in catalogue

Anon female (?)
'A book of phisick', 1710-25.
Reference: MS.1320
Full details in catalogue

Elizabeth Fuller and others
Collection of cookery and medical receipts, 1712-1822.
Reference: MS.2450
Full details in catalogue

Letitia Owen
Book of cookery receipts, with a few medical receipts, c.1715.
Reference: MS.3730
Full details in catalogue

Maria Theresia von Rodwitz
'Allerhandt güet undt reecht befundene von einmach Artzneyen, farben unndt kocherayen Sachen...', 1716.
Reference: MS.4240
Full details in catalogue

Mme la presidente de Maliverny
'Livre des remedes...', 1719-39, MS.3409; 'Les secres...', c.1725.
Reference: MS.3410
Full details in catalogue

Deborah Haddock
'Mrs Deborah Haddock. Her Book', culinary, medical and household recipes, 1720-[?].
Reference: MS.7987
Full details in catalogue

Jane Hammond
Recipe book, 1724.
Reference: MS.7124
Full details in catalogue

Anon
Collection of medical and cookery receipts in a variety of early 18th-century hands. Second quarter, 18th century.
Reference: MS.7746
Full details in catalogue

Charlotte Van Lore Johnstone
'Receipt-book', c.1725.
Reference: MS.3087
Full details in catalogue

Elizabeth Whiteaker and others
Collection of cookery receipts, and a few medical receipts, c.1725.
Reference: MS.4997
Full details in catalogue

Deborah Branch
'Deborah Branch her book', 1725.
Reference: MS.1343
Full details in catalogue

Anon females
Collection of cookery receipts, with a few medical remedies, c.1725-c.1825.
Reference: MS.1821
Full details in catalogue

Mme Lievain
'Trésor de Santé', 1725-40.
Reference: MS.3258
Full details in catalogue

Jane Lowdham
Recipe book, 1729.
Reference: MS.7073
Full details in catalogue

Sarah Tully, Lady Hoare [and others]
"Book of Receipts for Cookery and Pastry & c", including medical, veterinary and household recipes, 1732-[?]
Reference: MS.8687
Full details in catalogue

Mrs Frances Rawson
Collection of cookery and medical receipts in various hands, c.1734-18th century.
Reference: MS.7747
Full details in catalogue

Rebecca Tallamy
'Her book of Receipts', 1735-8.
Reference: MS.4759
Full details in catalogue

Jane Foster and others
Collection of cookery receipts, followed by a few medical receipts, 1739-94.
Reference: MS.2416
Full details in catalogue

Mrs Jackson
Collection of cookery and medical receipts, 1743.
Reference: MS.3008
Full details in catalogue

Anne Lisle
Collection of cookery, medical, veterinary and domestic receipts, 1748.
Reference: MS.3294-5
Full details in catalogue

Elizabeth Thompson
Collection of medical, cookery and household recipes, 1749-[?]
Reference: MS.7850
Full details in catalogue

Harriet Marsham
Collection of cookery receipts, with a few medical receipts, mid-18th century.
Reference: MS.3460
Full details in catalogue

Anon Irish cookery book
With a few medical recipes, mid-18th century.
Reference: MS.8042
Full details in catalogue

Elizabeth Michel
'Her book of recepts', mid-18th century.
Reference: MS.3539
Full details in catalogue

Anne Neville
Collection of medical receipts, mid-18th century.
Reference: MS.3685
Full details in catalogue

Mary Percival
Collection of cookery receipts, with a few medical receipts, mid-18th century.
Reference: MS.3828
Full details in catalogue

Jane Young
Collection of cookery receipts, with a few medical receipts, mid-18th century.
Reference: MS.5102
Full details in catalogue

Magdelaine Hanuche
Collection of medical receipts (in French), c.1750-75.
Reference: MS.2777
Full details in catalogue

Mrs Finger and others
Collection of medical, cookery and household receipts, c.1750-1800.
Reference: MS.2363
Full details in catalogue

Esther Hanmer and others
Receipt book, c.1750-1825.
Reference: MS.2767
Full details in catalogue

Anna Katharina Haydtin
'Medicin Buch...', 1756.
Reference: MS.2797
Full details in catalogue

Mary Foster and others
Receipt book, 1758.
Reference: MS.2410
Full details in catalogue

Frances Rous
Collection of cookery, medical and household receipts, 1767.
Reference: MS.4288
Full details in catalogue

Elizabeth Grey
Phisical receipts, extract from Eliz Grey's Choice Manual (1653), c.1775.
Reference: MS.2630
Full details in catalogue

Mrs Jones and others
Collection of cookery receipts, with a few medical receipts, c.1775-c.1835.
Reference: MS.3088
Full details in catalogue

Lucy Culley and others
'Lucy Culley's Receipt Book', c.1775-1858.
Reference: MS.1974
Full details in catalogue

Eleanor Owen
Collection of cookery receipts, followed by a few medical receipts, 1779-96.
Reference: MS.3729
Full details in catalogue

Eliza Anna Smith and others
Collection of cookery receipts, with a few household, medical and veterinary receipts, 1782-1850.
Reference: MS.4632
Full details in catalogue

Mrs H O
Collection of cookery receipts, with a few medical receipts, 1783.
Reference: MS.3700
Full details in catalogue

Lady Eleanor Dundas
Collections of medical and cookery receipts, c.1785.
Reference: MS.2242
Full details in catalogue

Miss Myddleton and others
'Receipts copied from Miss Myddleton's Book...', 1785-1818.
Reference: MS.3656
Full details in catalogue

Catherine Rye
'Her receipt Book', 1786.
Reference: MS.4322
Full details in catalogue

Harriot Clinton
Collection of medical and cookery receipts and memoranda, 1788?
Reference: MS.7720
Full details in catalogue

Ann Evans, née Ward
Collection of medical and cookery receipts and memoranda, c.1788-1831.
Reference: MS.7732
Full details in catalogue

Anne White and others
'Cookery book. Procuring diseases', 1789-1845.
Reference: MSS 4992-3
Full details in catalogue

Mary Anne Fawcett
Collection of cookery receipts, with a few medical receipts, 1795-1832.
Reference: MS.2339
Full details in catalogue

Mary Ann Anstey and Diana Matilda Fenwick
Cookery book, with some medical and household receipts, 1798-1828.
Reference: MS.960
Full details in catalogue

Anon Coventry housewife
Medical receipt book, late 18th century-early 19th century.
Reference: MS.7366
Full details in catalogue

Recipes
Mainly culinary (found loose inside MS.7747) 18th-19th century.
Reference: MS.7748
Full details in catalogue

M Mascall
'Book of Recipes', Collection of medical, veterinary and household recipes, late 18th-early 19th century.
Reference: MS.7875
Full details in catalogue

Contact an archivist

To contact an archivist, email archs+mss@wellcome.ac.uk or phone +44 (0)20 7611 8899 during Library opening hours.