Domestic medicine and receipt books - 16th and 17th century

This guide highlights primary source material from the Archives and Manuscripts Collection about domestic medicine and receipt books - 16th and 17th century.

These materials span the 16th-17th centuries. The Archives and Manuscripts catalogue holds further details of these items.

16th century

Anne de Croy
'Recueil d'aulcunes confections et m├ędicines', 1533.
Reference: MS.222
Full details in catalogue

Elisabethe von Gradnekh
Junkhfrawen Elisabethen von Grandnekh Ertzney Buec hell', 1544.
Reference: MS.317
Full details in catalogue

Elisabet Schitzin and others
'Ertzney Biechl', 1581-1668.
Reference: MS.732
Full details in catalogue

17th century

Mrs Corylon
'A Booke of divers Medecines...', 1606.
Reference: MS.213
Full details in catalogue

Grace Acton
Collection of cookery and medical receipts, 1621.
Reference: MS.1
Full details in catalogue

Anon
Collection of medical and cookery receipts, early 17th century.  
Reference: MS.635
Full details in catalogue

Jane Baber,
'A Booke of Receipts', c.1625.
Reference: MS.108
Full details in catalogue

Lady Frances Catchmay
'A booke of medicens', c.1625.
Reference: MS.184a
Full details in catalogue

Anne Brumwich and others
'Booke of Receipts or Medicines...', c.1625-1700.
Reference: MS.160
Full details in catalogue

Elizabeth Bulkeley
'A boke of hearbes and receipts', 1627.
Reference: MS.169
Full details in catalogue

Joan Gibson
'A booke of medicines', 1632-[1717].
Reference: MS.311
Full details in catalogue

Katherine, Countess of Chesterfield
'A booke of severall receipts'. c.1635.
Reference: MSS 761-2
Full details in catalogue

Sarah Hughes
'Mrs Hughes her receipts...', 1637.
Reference: MS.363
Full details in catalogue

Jane Jackson
'A very shorte and compendious Methode of Phisicke and Chirurgery...', 1642.
Reference: MS.373
Full details in catalogue

Elizabeth Sleigh and Felicia Whitfeld
Collection of medical receipts, 1647-1722.
Reference: MS.751
Full details in catalogue

Richard Holland
Collection of medical and culinary recipes, with a few extracts from Roman authors, 1648- early 19th century.
Reference: MS.8575
Full details in catalogue

Anon
Notebook containing medical recipes, 1650 and later 17th century.
Reference: MS.6812
Full details in catalogue

Anon female (?)
'Receiptes pour diverses maladies', mid-17th century.
Reference: MS.672
Full details in catalogue

Dorcas Gwynne
Collection of medical and cookery receipts, mid-17th century.
Reference: MS.774
Full details in catalogue

Alice Corbett
Collection of medical receipts, mid-17th century.
Reference: MS.212
Full details in catalogue

Anon
Collection of medical, cookery and veterinary receipts, c.1650-1739.
Reference: MS.144
Full details in catalogue

Elizabeth Temple or Dorothy Temple
Household, cookery and medical receipts, c.1650-c.1750.
Reference: MS.MSL.2
Full details in catalogue

Godfrey-Faussett family
Collection of culinary recipes, with a few medical, veterinary and household recipes, mid-17th century-mid-18th century.
Reference: MSS.7997-8002
Full details in catalogue

Jane Parker
'Mrs Jane Parker her Boock...', 1651.
Reference: MS.3769
Full details in catalogue

Lady Ann Fanshawe (1625-1680)
Recipe book 1651-78.
Reference: MS.7113
Full details in catalogue

Elizabeth Jacob and others
'Physicall and chyrurgicall receipts' , 1654-c.1685.
Reference: MS.3009
Full details in catalogue

Mrs Mary Miller
'Her Booke of Recipts', 1660.
Reference: MS.3547
Full details in catalogue

Anon
A booke of divers receipts, c.1660-c.1750.
Reference: MS.1322
Full details in catalogue

Bridget Parker
Collection of medical and cookery receipts, 1663.
Reference: MS.3768
Full details in catalogue

Mary Bent
Cookery book, with a few medical receipts, 1664-1729.
Reference: MS.1127
Full details in catalogue

Anon
Collection of medical and cookery receipts, 1669 and late 17th century.
Reference: MS.4047
Full details in catalogue

Sir Thomas Osborne
A booke of preserves cookerie and phisicall medicines, 1670-95.
Reference: MS.3724
Full details in catalogue

Maria Catharina von Questenberg and Freyin von Stadl
'Bewehrte Lebens Mitel...', 1673.
Reference: MS.4029
Full details in catalogue

Anon
Collection of medical and cookery receipts, c.1675.
Reference: MS.4050
Full details in catalogue

Jane Newton and others
Medical and cookery receipts, c.1675-c.1725.
Reference: MS.1325
Full details in catalogue

Anon
Collection of cookery and medical receipts, c.1675-c.1725.
Reference: MS.1321
Full details in catalogue

Katherine Jones, Lady Ranelagh
Collection of medical receipts, c.1675-c.1710.
Reference: MS.1340
Full details in catalogue

Martha Hodges and others
Collection of cookery receipts, including a few medical receipts, c.1675-1725.
Reference: MS.2844
Full details in catalogue

Elizabeth Okeover and others
Collection of medical receipts, c.1675-c.1725.
Reference: MS.3712
Full details in catalogue

Bridget Hyde
'Madam Bridget Hyde her receipt book..', 1676-90.
Reference: MS.2990
Full details in catalogue

Sarah Hudson
'Her book', 1678.
Reference: MS.2954
Full details in catalogue

Johanna St John
'Johanna St John Her Booke', 1680.
Reference: MS.4338
Full details in catalogue

Anon
Collection of cookery and medical receipts, 1680-c.1725.
Reference: MS.1793
Full details in catalogue

Mrs Carr
Collection of cookery and medical receipts, 1682.
Reference: MS.1511
Full details in catalogue

Mrs Elizabeth Hirst and others
Collection of medical and cookery receipts, 1684-c.1725.
Reference: MS.2840
Full details in catalogue

Anon
Collection of cookery and medical receipts, c.1685-c.1725.
Reference: MS.1794
Full details in catalogue

Anon
Collection of cookery, medical and veterinary receipts, c.1685-c.1725.
Reference: MS.1795
Full details in catalogue

Anon
Collection of cookery and medical receipts, c.1685-c.1725.
Reference: MS.1796
Full details in catalogue

Margaret Paston
Collection of medical receipts and remedies (in Italian), late 17th century.
Reference: MS.3777
Full details in catalogue

Elizabeth Godfrey and others
Collection of medical and cookery receipts, 1686.
Reference: MS.2535
Full details in catalogue

Frances Springatt and others
Collection of cookery and medical receipts, 1686-1823.
Reference: MS.4683
Full details in catalogue

Mrs Meade and others
Collection of medical, veterinary and cookery receipts, 1688-1727.
Reference: MS.3500
Full details in catalogue

Anon
Collection of receipts for cordials, preserves, cookery and medicines, c.1690-1710.
Reference: MS.4054
Full details in catalogue

Mary Chantrell and others
'Book of receipts', 1690.
Reference: MS.1548
Full details in catalogue

Amy Eyton and others
Collection of cookery receipts, with a few medical and household receipts, 1691-1738.
Reference: MS.2323
Full details in catalogue

Lady Ayscough
'Receits of phisick and chirurgery', 1692.
Reference: MS.1026
Full details in catalogue

Elizabeth Philipps
Collection of cookery receipts, with a few medical and household receipts, 1684.
Reference: MS.3082
Full details in catalogue

Mary Perrott
'Receipt Book', 1695.
Reference: MS.3834
Full details in catalogue

Sabina Christina von Gilleis
'Artzney Buech...', 1696.
Reference: MS.2521
Full details in catalogue

Elizabeth Browne/ Penelope Humphreys/ Sarah Studman/ Mary Dawes
'Book of Receipts', collection of cookery and medical recipes, c.1697-19th century.
Reference: MS.7851
Full details in catalogue

Marie Catherine de Beringhe
'Recueil des rem├Ędes faciles et domestiques...', 1699.
Reference: MS.1138
Full details in catalogue

Katherine Kidder
Collection of cookery and medical receipts, 1699.
Reference: MS.3107
Full details in catalogue

Anon
Collection of cookery and medical receipts, late 17th century.
Reference: MS.1791
Full details in catalogue

Anon
Collection of cookery and medical receipts, late 17th century. 
Reference: MS.2330
Full details in catalogue

Lowther family
Collection of cookery, household and medical receipts, late 17th century.
Reference: MS.3341
Full details in catalogue

Anon
Collection of medical, cookery and household receipts with accounts, notes and extracts translated from classical authors etc, late 17th century.
Reference: MS.4051
Full details in catalogue

Lady Barrett
'Select receipts', c.1700.
Reference: MS.1071
Full details in catalogue

Mary Clarke
Collection of cookery, medical and other receipts, c.1700.
Reference: MS.1662
Full details in catalogue

Abigail Smith and others
Collection of medical and cookery receipts, c.1700.
Reference: MS.4631
Full details in catalogue

Elizabeth Smith and others
Recipe Book, c.1700.
Reference: MS.6956
Full details in catalogue

Ann and Hester de la Bere
Collection of medical and cookery receipts, 17th century.
Reference: MS.7577
Full details in catalogue

Mary Peacock
Cookery and medical recipes, late 17th century.
Reference: MS.7787
Full details in catalogue

Theodosia Henshaw
Collection of medical and cookery recipes, later 17th century.
Reference: MS.7849
Full details in catalogue

Miss Shaw
Collection of medical and cookery receipts, 17th-18th century.
Reference: MS.7721
Full details in catalogue

Unidentified author [initials J A]
Collection of cookery and medical receipts Later 17th-early 18th century.
Reference: MS.7745
Full details in catalogue

Anon
Collection of medical, culinary and household recipes, in various hands, 17th century-early 18th century.
Reference: MS.7818
Full details in catalogue

Caleb Lowdham/Loudham and Jane Lowdham
Notebook of medical and culinary recipes with a few case histories, late 17th century-early 18th century.
Reference: MS.7073
Full details in catalogue

Anon
Collection of medical recipes, later 17th-18th century.
Reference: MS.7822
Full details in catalogue

Anon
Collection of medical and cookery receipts, late 17th-18th century.
Reference: MS.7892
Full details in catalogue

Contact an archivist

To contact an archivist, email archs+mss@wellcome.ac.uk or phone +44 (0)20 7611 8899 during Library opening hours.